UA-108736776-2

Paisley Pijuan, LCSW

Connection is the energy that exists between people when they feel seen, heard and valued.

Brene Brown

My Approach

It is fulfilling being a part of a child or teens growth and seeing them develop a better understanding of themselves.  This important development of skills will help support them throughout their life.  I use a variety of techniques such as play therapy, psychoeducation, cognitive behavioral techniques, strength-based approaches, short-term solution focused strategies, mindfulness, and skills that help decrease anxiety, depression and increase confidence.  I always start where the child or teen is most comfortable and work collaboratively in helping them meet their goals.  I create a safe space, listen to concerns, and incorporate fun in the process. 

My Training

I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker with over 25 years of experience working with children, teens, and families.  I graduated from UCLA with a Masters in Social Work (MSW) in 1995.  My experiences include supporting kids, teens and adults with a wide range of concerns including but not limited to anxiety, depression, self-harm, coping skills, relationship issues, parenting concerns, co-parenting, communication issues, cultural and identity struggles, grief and loss, domestic violence, and decision making.  I have worked in a wide range of settings such as hospitals, home health/hospice, schools (middle school and high school), telehealth, and as a child custody mediator for 15 years at the Ventura County Superior Court.  I have dedicated my career to working with children, teens, and families because the experiences children and teens have shape and inform them but don’t necessarily have to define them. I am also skilled at working with parents to assist them in learning more about their children and how to best support them.  I am licensed in both California and Oregon.

Outside of Work

I am a wife and mother of two children, three doggies, and two guinea pigs.  I love walking, biking (road and mountain), hiking, jogging, kayaking, and just being outdoors.  I also enjoy listening to podcasts and reading.  I am grateful for the ongoing learning I experience through my work with children, teens, and families.  I grew up in California but spent my childhood summers in Bend.  I am thrilled to make Bend my home now.

Specialties

  • Divorce/separated and blended families and the parenting challenges associated with these life experiences   
  • Depression and anxiety
  • Gender Identity
  • Bereavement/Grief/Miscarriage/Stillbirth
  • Adjustment disorders
UA-108736776-2